Kira Lugo

musings, music, & epiphanies…oh my!

My grandmother was a Home Ec teacher…

on January 2, 2012

Some days I laugh in spite of myself. You have to have a good sense of humor when you are challenged at something. Mine seems to be cooking. Especially over the last year when I was working full time and not using the kitchen as much. Now that I am home, there have been several “incidents” where my cooking skills have proven to be…lacking. Yesterday I poured some water into a pyrex dish I was using in the oven and the entire outer rim cracked right off. Apparently, you don’t put cold water into hot glass dishes. Who knew? Not this chick! This morning while getting Zach and Max their breakfast, I burned my hand in the toaster oven. Toaster oven’s fault! Oh, and let’s not forget the TABLESPOON of baking soda I put into a batch of Christmas cookies. I read the recipe wrong.

Which brings me to a few minutes ago, luckily Brian had left to go to work because I am sure he won’t be happy about my latest kitchen drama….
ย I sat the plastic crock pot lid onto the stovetop…which I had just been using. OOPS!! That burner wasn’t cooled down yet. I went to put the lid back after stirring the chili and the burner came with it! All I can do is laugh. I think the main reason I am like this is because my husband is a Domestic God. Seriously. I pale in comparison to his cooking and cleaning skills. And I’m absolutely OK with that. I know what I’m good at. I know where my place is. If you need an outfit for a special occasion or just a new pair of jeans, I’m your gal. If you need a great mix CD or help choosing paint colors for your living space….call me! If you need help with your makeup, hair, or a manicure…send me a text!

But if you need something cooked, baked, broiled, fried, braised….you get the idea…you might want to ask for the man of the house.


2 responses to “My grandmother was a Home Ec teacher…

  1. ShantiLynda says:

    Oh my … Mom (your grandmother) is probably up in heaven shaking her head and saying, “Where did I go wrong, to have such a kitchen-challenged granddaughter?” I’m wondering that myself, given I did inherit some of her talents. After all, I did win the Betty Crocker award for my high school in 1966! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Maybe it would help to put a sign up by the stove, saying “Kira! Slow down, breathe, focus!” Just make sure it’s not too close to the burners, haha!

Leave a comment